Both parties must be present to obtain a marriage license. Each individual is required to provide a valid government-issued photo I.D., such as a
driver's license, passport, etc. to show proof of age and confirm identity. NOTE: a Matricula Consular I.D. card is not an acceptable form of
identification for any type of marriage license to be issued. Arizona Revised Statute 25-121(B) requires applicants to provide their social security number
(SSN), if any. Except for child support purposes, the Clerk's Office may not release SSNs without the applicant's written request.
To print the "Marriage License Application Form,"click here."
A copy of a divorce decree is not required; blood tests are not required.
A marriage license must be issued prior to the ceremony taking place, signed at completion of the ceremony, and returned by the officiator not more than
30 days after the ceremony has taken place in order for the license to be recorded.
You will receive your marriage license on the same day you apply for the license, and can be married on the same day, if you have made arrangements with an
officiator of your choice to perform the ceremony. However, you have up to one (1) year from the date the marriage license was issued to get married, as the
license expires one (1) year from the date of purchase.
After the bottom portion of the license has been returned and recorded, a certified copy can be requested and mailed to you for an additional $37.50 payable
at the time you apply for the license or any time afterwards, or $30.50 if you provide a business-size, self-addressed stamped envelope at the time of your request.
For further information, you may call (602)37-CLERK, or (602)372-5375.
Marriage License / Age Requirements
Effective August 3, 2018, if you are under 16 years of age, you are prohibited from marrying.
If you are at least 16 years of age and under 18 years of age, the following are required:
- either a certified copy of an Emancipation Order, OR a notarized Clerk's Office parental consent form along with the front and back of your parent(s) or legal guardian's identification, or have your parent(s) or legal guardian accompany you and present proper identification and sign the parental consent form in the presence of the clerk issuing your marriage license; AND
- a copy of your birth certification; AND
- one of the following government issued picture I.D.'s is required: a) current driver's license; b)state or military I.D. card; c) current passport; d) or other governmental issued picture I.D.
- The younger applicant's prospective spouse cannot be more than 3 years older than the younger applicant.
To print the "Consent for Marriage of Minor," click here."
License / Requirements
Requirements for couples who are getting married
According to legislation (A.R.S. 25-901-906) which became effective Aug.
21, 1998, couples who are planning to apply for a Covenant Marriage License
must provide a notarized statement from the clergy or marriage
counselor who provided their premarital counseling.
The notarized attestation/statement should confirm that:
the parties were advised about the nature and purpose of a covenant
- the parties were advised regarding the limited reasons for ending
marriage by legal separation or divorce; and
- the parties were given a copy of the pamphlet, Covenant Marriages
in Arizona, published by Arizona Office of the Courts (AOC).
At the Marriage License Office, the engaged couple will be asked to sign
a marriage license affidavit and the "Declaration of Intent to Enter
Into a Covenant Marriage" which states they met statutory requirements.
Requirements for couples who want to convert their marriage to a covenant
Couples who are already married may convert their existing marriage to
a covenant marriage. It does not matter where their license was issued.
Solemnization (a wedding ceremony) is not required to accomplish the conversion
to a covenant marriage.