Juvenile Court Responsibilities
The Juvenile Court has jurisdiction over:
- Delinquency and incorrigibility matters
- Petitions to adopt
- Applications for certification to adopt
- Petitions for termination of parental rights
- Dependency matters
- Guardianship of a Minor (not Conservatorship and not testamentary appointment of a guardian by will.)
- Emancipation of a Minor (must be at least 16 years of age)
- Injunction against Harassment if the subject is under 12 years of age
- Relinquishment of parental rights including American Indian children
Juvenile Court does not handle change of name or conservatorship of a minor. For further information on these two topics please call Probate Court Administration at (602) 506-3668.
Where to File
Adoptions are assigned to one of the two juvenile facilities based upon the zip code of the petitioners. You may present documents for filing at either juvenile facility:
3131 W. Durango
Phoenix, Arizona, 85009
1810 S. Lewis
Mesa, Arizona, 85210
Fees and Forms
There is no filing fee for a Petition for Adoption or to contest an adoption. For more information regarding adoptions, please visit the Superior Court's Adoptions webpage. You may also contact the Adoptions Unit at 602-506-4000 or email AdoptionsUnit@Superiorcourt.maricopa.gov with any additional questions.
The Clerk's Office does not provide any forms for adoption matters. Forms are available at local book stores, legal form stores, or from an attorney. A cover sheet is not required. You can also visit the Legal Law Library Resource Center.
To view filing fees, please visit our fees page.
For information or assistance on a step-parent adoption, contact the County Attorney’s Office at (602) 372-5437 ((602) 372-kids).
Information on Completed Adoptions
For information regarding a completed adoption matter, you may either contact the attorney who represented you or file a Motion to Open the adoption file with the Clerk’s office. Only non-identifying information will be provided. The requested information will only be released after review and order by the court.
You may also obtain the services of a confidential intermediary. For more information on that program, please call (602) 452-3957.
For information and assistance on delinquency or incorrigibility matters, please call the Juvenile Probation Department at (602) 506-4011.
If you need information on the destruction of delinquency court records, please call (602) 37-CLERK, or (602) 372-5375. Instructions, criteria, and the form to request destruction of records, restoration of rights and/or application to set aside adjudications are available at the Law Library Resource Center.
If the Department of Child Safety (DCS) has removed your child from your custody, you will be served with a notice of hearing. A court hearing will be set within 7 days. All requests to the Court must be made in writing.
The Court may appoint an attorney for you subject to reimbursement for attorney's fees. If you do not have an attorney and want one, you must file a written request with the Court. Forms are available at the Self Service Center at both juvenile facilities. You must purchase and provide a copy of the original Request for Judicial Officer review.
Information and form packets are available for purchase through the Law Library Resource Center located at both facilities.
For further information, you may call the Superior Court Customer Service Unit (602) 506-4308 or (602) 506-5318.
Emancipation laws became effective in the State of Arizona as of August 12, 2005, when it became possible for a minor that is at least 16 years of age to petition the Court for the status of an emancipated minor. For forms and information, please contact the Superior Court Customer Service Unit at (602) 506-4308 / (602) 506-5318 or visit the Law Library Resource Center.
The Filing fees for a Petition for Emancipation or an Answer to a Petition for Emancipation can be located in the list of Superior Court fees.
Petitions for appointment of a temporary and/or permanent guardian of a minor are filed at the Juvenile Court. Cases are assigned to one of the two juvenile facilities based upon the zip code of the petitioner. The Filing fee for a Petition for appointment of guardian of a minor can be located in the list of Superior Court fees.
If the party requesting to be appointed as guardian is not a blood relative, they must submit completed fingerprints for a criminal history check. The fee for presenting the fingerprint card can be located in the list of Superior Court fees. Blank fingerprint cards are provided by the Clerk's Office at either juvenile facility. To locate an agency to complete the fingerprinting, see the yellow pages.
Petitions for conservatorship or guardianship and conservatorship are filed in Probate. Testamentory appointment of a guardian by a will is also filed in Probate.
For information on filing a petition for guardianship, you may wish to seek legal advice from an attorney. Information and form packets may be purchased at the Customer Service Unit. Forms are also available online at the Law Library Resource Center.
Delinquency records are open to the public for those juveniles who were born after 1-1-1977. All other requests for information from delinquency files must be approved by the Court before any can be viewed.
Guardianship and emancipation cases are open to the public unless ordered sealed by the court.
All other juvenile case information is confidential. You may be granted access to case information depending upon your relationship to the case and the type of case it is. You may make a written request to the Court to release information to you. No case information is released over the telephone. Picture identification may be required before the release of any information you are authorized to have. There is a charge for research, copies, certification and postage.
If the person the injunction is against is LESS than 12 years of age, the injunction must be filed in the Juvenile Division of Superior Court.
If the person the injunction is against is 12 years of age or older, the injunction may be filed in any court. Injunctions against an adult 18 or older should not be filed in Juvenile Court.
The forms are available at the Superior Court Law Library Resource Center.
There is no fee for the forms and there is no filing fee. There may be costs to serve the petition. The cost of service is the responsibility of the petitioner. The petitioner can also request the cost of service be deferred or waived.
Juvenile matters are handled from 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday at the Juvenile Court Center Durango Facility, 3131 W. Durango in Phoenix and at the Southeast Facility, 1810 S. Lewis St. in Mesa. The telephone number for both facilities is (602) 37-CLERK, or (602) 372-5375 .
Fees and Forms
There is no filing fee required on petitions for termination of parental rights. Instructions, criteria, and forms to file a petition for termination of parental rights are available at the Self Service Center. A cover sheet is not required.
Arizona law requires a social study in this matter be conducted and a report submitted to the Court by a licensed adoption agency. Licensed adoption agencies are listed in the phone book.
The case will be assigned to one of our two juvenile facilities based upon the zip code of the petitioner. You may present documents for filing at either juvenile facility. The Phoenix location is 3131 W. Durango, Phoenix, Arizona 85009 and the Mesa location is 1810 S. Lewis, Mesa Arizona 85210.
For further information, you may call (602) 37-CLERK, or (602) 372-5375.